Umweltbilanz

Münchener Rück Stiftung - CO2-Bilanz 2015

CO2-Emissionen gesamt
Die Gesamtemissionen der Münchener Rück Stiftung im Jahr 2015 betrugen rund 1130 t CO2. Der Großteil hiervon, knapp 1030 t (91%), wurde durch Veranstaltungen der Stiftung verursacht. Wir kompensieren die Emissionen von Tagungsteilnehmern für die An- und Abreise. Die Emissionen durch den Betrieb der Geschäftsstelle (Strom, Heizung) und Dienstreisen fielen dagegen mit 39 t (4%) und 58 t (5%) gering aus.


 Abb. 1: Verteilung der CO2-Gesamtemissionen der Münchener Rück Stiftung
 

Im Vergleich zum Vorjahr sanken die Gesamtemissionen im Jahr 2015 um fast 400 t CO2. Der Betrieb der Geschäftsstelle verursachte gleich viele Emissionen wie 2014, während sowohl die Emissionen im Bereich Dienstreisen (um etwa 35 t CO2), als auch bei Veranstaltungen (um mehr als 360 t CO2) deutlich sanken. Dies ist vor allem auf die Mikroversicherungskonferenz in Marokko zurückzuführen, wofür die Teilnehmer im Vergleich zum Vorjahr (Mexiko) durchschnittlich kürzere Flugstrecken zurückzulegen hatten und die Teilnehmeranzahl leicht zurückgegangen ist.

Der Anteil der Emissionen durch Veranstaltungen wird von der Stiftung durch den Kauf von Emissionszertifikaten ausgeglichen. Die CO2-Emissionen der Dienstreisen von Mitarbeitern und der Geschäftsstelle werden durch Munich Re kompensiert.*  

 

Abb. 2: Vergleich der Gesamtemissionen von 2006 bis 2015
 

CO2-Emissionen durch Veranstaltungen
Zur Ermittlung der Veranstaltungsemissionen wurden nur die Reisen der Teilnehmer bilanziert, der kurzzeitige Betrieb der Veranstaltungsräume kann vernachlässigt werden. 

Mit rund 850 t CO2 hat die Internationale Mikroversicherungskonferenz in Marokko den größten Anteil (82 %) zu verbuchen. Dies erklärt sich durch die vielen Flugreisen der gut 350 Teilnehmer. Auch die Resilience Academy verursacht deutliche Emissionen (17 %), da Jungwissenschaftler aus aller Welt in Bangladesch zusammengekommen sind (knapp 180 t CO2). 

Nur gering trägt dahingegen die Veranstaltungsreihe Dialogforen in München zu den diesjährigen Emissionen bei. Sie macht mit annähernd 5 t (0,5%) erwartungsgemäß einen kleinen Anteil aus. Hier kommt das Publikum in der Regel aus dem Großraum München.

 

Abb. 3: Verteilung der CO2-Emissionen durch Veranstaltungen
  

CO2-Emissionen durch Geschäftsbetrieb
Die CO2-Emissionen für den Geschäftsbetrieb (Büro und Reisen) liegen bei knapp 97 t CO2: 39 t CO2 für die Geschäftsstelle (Strom, Heizung)* und 60 t CO2 für Dienstreisen, vornehmlich Flugreisen**. Die Emissionen durch Dienstreisen sind damit um gut ein Drittel im Vergleich zum Vorjahr gesunken.  

                     

Abb. 4: Verteilung der CO2-Emissionen durch Geschäftsbetrieb
 

------------------------------------------------------------------- 

* Zur Berechnung der Emissionen der Geschäftsstelle wurden pro Mitarbeiter 6 t CO2 kalkuliert. Dies ist das Ergebnis einer Munich Re Studie von 2010, einsehbar im Corporate Responsibility Report 2010.

** Bei Flugreisen wurde der RFI (Radiative Forcing Index) mit 2,7 angewendet.  Für jede Flugreise wurde pauschal 100 km Zubringerverkehr angenommen.

CB, 8. Januar 2016 

 

Über uns

> Überblick

> Startseite

 

Umweltbilanz

> Übersicht

 

Ausgleichsmaßnahmen 2015

> mehr

 

Kontakt

> Christian Barthelt

Environmental Performance

Munich Re Foundation – 2015 carbon footprint

Total CO2 emissions
In 2015, Munich Re Foundation's total CO2 emissions amounted to approximately 1130 metric tons. Most of them (almost 1,030 t or 91%) were caused by Foundation events. We offset the emissions from trips made by delegates travelling to and from conferences. Emissions from office activities (electricity, heating) and business travel, at 39 t (4%) and 58 t (5%) respectively, were low by comparison.

Fig. 1: Munich Re Foundation's total CO2 emissions 

The total CO2 emissions for 2015 were down by almost 400 t on those of the year before. The operation of the offices caused the same amount of emissions as in 2014, while the emissions in the areas of business trips and events dropped significantly by approximately 35 t CO2 and more than 360 t CO2 respectively. This was due in particular to the microinsurance conference in Morocco, as the delegates' flights were shorter on average than in the previous year (Mexico) and the number of delegates was also slightly lower.

The Foundation purchases emission certificates to offset the emissions caused by its events. The CO2 emissions from business trips made by Foundation staff and generated by its office activities are offset by Munich Re.*  

Fig. 2: Comparison of total emissions in the 2006 – 2015 period 

CO2 emissions from events

Only the journeys undertaken by delegates attending events were taken into account to calculate the emissions; the short-term occupancy of the rooms used for the events is negligible.  

Emissions from the International Microinsurance Conference in Morocco, at approximately 850 t, accounted for the largest proportion (82%). This was due to the numerous flights undertaken by the over 350  participants. The Resilience Academy also generated substantial emissions (17 %), as young researchers came together in Bangladesh from all over the world (just under 180 t CO2).  

In contrast, the Dialogue Forum events in Munich contributed only very slightly to this year's emissions. As expected, they came to almost 5 t (0.5%) and therefore accounted for just a small share of total emissions. The guests attending the forums normally come from the greater Munich area.

Fig. 3: CO2 emissions from events  

CO2 emissions from business operations

The CO2 balance for business operations (office and trips) is just under 97 t: 39 t CO2 for the offices (electricity and heat)* and 60 t CO2 for business trips, chiefly flights**. The emissions from the business trips are therefore a good third down on last year.                       

Fig. 4: CO2 emissions from business operations 

------------------------------------------------------------------- 

* Emissions produced by the Foundation's office were based on a figure of 6 t CO2 per employee. This was established in a study undertaken by Munich Re in 2010, details of which can be read in our 2010 Corporate Responsibility Report.

** An RFI (Radiative Forcing Index) factor of 2.7 is applied to air travel.  A travelling distance of 100 km to and from airports is assumed for each plane journey.

CB, 19 January 2016

About us

> Overview

> Home

 

Environmental Performance

> Overview

 

Offset project 2015

> more

 

Contact

> Christian Barthelt